Date Posted

25 October, 2021

Posted by

Cathy Weis

Sugar Research Australia (SRA) has announced the appointment of three new directors, including a new Chairperson, following its Annual General Meeting in Brisbane.

Rowena McNally was elected as chairperson, alongside incoming directors, Mark Day and Rowley Winten.

SRA Chief Executive Officer Roslyn Baker welcomed the new directors to their roles and thanked outgoing directors for their service.

“Ms McNally has more than 20 years’ experience as a board chair and board director with extensive experience in regional Queensland. She has held various roles in the sugar industry and many chair and board roles in the water and energy sectors,” Ms Baker said.

Ms McNally’s previous involvement with the sugar industry includes several years as the Sugar Industry Commissioner and Chair of the Sugar Authority, as well as roles with Queensland Sugar Corporation.

Ms McNally said she planned to visit a number of sugar districts before the end of the year to catch up with some familiar faces and meet with key stakeholders.

“I’m honoured to take on the role and am very much looking forward to working with the SRA Board and staff,” she said.

Ms Baker also thanked retiring Chairperson Dr Ron Swindells who had been on the SRA Board since the organisation’s inception.

Dr Swindells said it had been a privilege to serve as SRA’s Chair for the past six years and as a director since the formation of SRA.

“SRA has evolved considerably from the initial organisation put before the board back in 2013. It must and will continue to evolve and implement its new vision. May I wish you all good weather, good prices and good health for the future,” Dr Swindells said.

He also acknowledged Dr Guy Roth and Lee Blackburn for their service as SRA directors and welcomed incoming directors Mark Day and Rowley Winten.

Mark Day has four decades of experience in the sugar industry, having served as an executive and director in the milling sector. He has served on the boards of Sugar Terminals Limited, the Bureau of Sugar Experiment Stations, Sugar Research Institute and Australian Molasses Trading, as well as the Australian Sugar Milling Council.

Rowley Winten is an international marketing professional with an agronomy background. He has represented the sugar industry on a number of national committees and has more than 40 years’ experience in agriculture across a diverse range of broadacre and intensive farming systems.

The incoming directors were elected at the AGM on the recommendation of an independent director selection committee, led by Elizabeth Alexander and comprising sugar milling representatives, John Pratt and Guy Basile, and growing representatives, Joe Marano and Owen Menkens.

Media contact: Cathy Weis, 0419 175 815

Site by Swell Design Group